Penelope Adelle Kelso- Month One

So, since I have a bad problem of starting a blog for a specific reason being all ‘gung ho’ about keeping up with the blog for a few days, at most a few weeks, and then neglecting it from then on only to get inspiration later to start a new blog with another specific purpose. I have decided to attempt to save myself and everyone else the trouble of having to deal with a new blog and give this formerly photography blog a new life as a ‘baby book’ sort of blog.

Image

Image

988394_10202761028216755_504717163_nThe first month, more specifically the first week, was probably the most difficult to date. Everything was so new for all of us, Penelope included. Our sleep schedules were all off and her and I had to find a feeding routine which worked best for us both.

At first I was really set on breastfeeding. I was under the impression that it was just something that came naturally and would be a really easy really wonderful thing; therefore I made the mistake of spending my time researching what laundry detergent to use with cloth diapers, which baby wrap I wanted, which swing was the best [things that could have easily been saved for after baby was born to make room for more important research subject, such as breastfeeding].

The second night at the hospital, after a great first night of feeding just fine [so I thought], we were having trouble. I was getting stressed, she was getting stressed, we were both tired out of our minds and the nursery worker asked me if she could give her a bottle so she would calm down. I was not aware of such a thing as ‘nipple confusion’ so therefore said, “Sure, that sounds great.” We could both rest a little, calm down, and she would be fed and happy. Sadly, it wasn’t all roses and lollipops like I thought it would be. Giving her that bottle was the worst decision I ever made. Ever since that one bottle she has refused to breast feed. She seemed to just prefer the easiness and quickness of a bottle. I’ve tried everything and done my fair share of research trying to figure out how to get her off the bottle again, but nothing has worked. I shortly began pumping and supplementing between formula and breast milk. I am okay with this. This way Eric gets a chance to feed her and bond with her and I can even leave her with a baby sitter without worrying about having to breast feed her.

If I could change things though, I would definitely go back and do my research BEFORE I had Penelope and I would have stuck with breast feeding. Maybe I will have more success with the next one now that I know everything I do.

Okay, enough with the boobs. Here are some more pictures of my darling little, who Eric and I affectionately call ‘Baby’. I am super proud of her, more proud then I have ever been of anything. I have never been so excited to show anything off that I created in my life until now.

ImageImage

ImageImageImage

Baby’s Characteristics:

– It seems that even since the womb she has been one willful baby.  Even after the quite a few times I was sure she was going to join us on the earth she held out and would not come.  Even a week after my due date, when I was only dilated 1cm and had to be induced, she refused to come and had to removed surgically. She just didn’t want to come out. When she gets something in her head she will do what she can to have it her way. ;]

– She is a very cuddly and loving. She loves lying on your shoulder with her head down, one arm wrapped around your shoulder, one around your neck, so sweet and adorable.

– She had jaundice when she was born so she was very cranky and sleepy at first. It never got too bad and she wasn’t harmed by it at all.

-She has huge dark blue eyes & more hair than I had expected her to have [thats not saying much though, I expected her to be as bald as a pool cue ;)]

-She was born weighing 8 lbs 3 oz. and measuring 19.5 in.

Baby’s Accomplishments:

-At just four weeks my baby was cooing and smiling like crazy! So cute with her toothless little self.

-Sleeps at least 6 hours straight through the night.

-Can mimic sounds and movements to a certain extent.

-Said ‘Okay’ & ‘Hungry’ at least twice.

Until next time,

Amanda x♥o♥

One thought on “Penelope Adelle Kelso- Month One

Leave a Reply

